Just another WordPress.com site

Multiple Flash

 

Lighting Diagram

Dance and gymnastics instructor Ken Braso teaches his advanced ballet class at Dancearts of Columbia. He moved to Dancearts two years ago.

My classmate Sara and I shot at a dance studio called Dancearts of Columbia. The room had a mirrored wall along one entire side and the rest of the room was white. We were in a giant soft box. I decided with the ballet theme it was time to play with some shadows for intensity. I set the stationary flash in the back right corner of the studio pointing toward almost the center of the room. I set that to be my key light and boosted it up about two exposures. I kept one flash on camera to use as a fill light. The flash on the camera was at a negative one exposure at ¼ power and I usually bounced it. The lights in the room were fluorescent so there was a little mixing of light but I believe I closed off my lens enough so that it wasn’t bothersome. I was usually shooting at ISO 100, f/6.3 and between 1/100 to 1/250 of a second.

For my select I caught a little more shadow than I would have liked but I think the picture is very journalistic. The other pictures I liked just didn’t have that interaction I wanted.

Ballet students leap into the air during an exercise.

Advanced ballet students using a bar for balance as they practice.

Leave a Reply

